Ten things I like that begin with the letter P.

Since I am in need of some non-serious (read: non-protected) blog fodder, I have decided to participate in a months-old meme that involves getting assigned a letter by another blogger and listing ten things I like that begin with that letter.

Julienne generously assigned me the letter P.

If you would like to participate, leave me a comment and I’ll assign you a letter with my mental roll of the Scattergories die.

1. “The Party” by St. Vincent

2. Prozac (aka Lexapro)

prozac

3. Peonies

peonies

4. Poetry

Crush

by Ada Limón June 8, 2009

Maybe my limbs are made

mostly for decoration,

like the way I feel about

persimmons. You can’t

really eat them. Or you

wouldn’t want to. If you grab

the soft skin with your fist

it somehow feels funny,

like you’ve been here

before and uncomfortable,

too, like you’d rather

squish it between your teeth

impatiently, before spitting

the soft parts back up

to linger on the tongue like

burnt sugar or guilt.

For starters, it was all

an accident, you cut

the right branch

and a sort of light

woke up underneath,

and the inedible fruit

grew dark and needy.

Think crucial hanging.

Think crayon orange.

There is one low, leaning

heart-shaped globe left

and dearest, can you

tell, I am trying

to love you less.

5. Paisley

pink-paisley

6. Pastries

pastries

7. Pearls

pearls

8. Paris (photo by me)

gargoyle

9. Politics

democrats_republicans_head_to_head_hg_wht

10. Pubs

200603-partingglass2

14 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

14 responses to “Ten things I like that begin with the letter P.

  1. Paisley? YEAH!

    Peonies? YES!

    Pastry? OH YES!

    That Poem? PERFECT.

  2. I agree with Julienne. 100%!

  3. Jennie

    I like St. Vincent, too! I also like Paris, pubs, and that poem.

  4. ataleofaguy

    I vote for J.
    And just wondering, would you take a look at my blog? Maybe link it? Maybe not…

  5. calamityjill

    I almost always skip over poems, like one might skip a dream description, but I couldn’t love the one you posted more… *sigh*

  6. acautionaryblog

    Tale of a Guy: Would you like me to do J next? Or are you requesting it for yourself? If it’s the latter, feel free. If it’s the former, definitely. 🙂

  7. i kind of want to do this. because, you know, i need non-deep blog fodder as well. so assign away, CG. 🙂

  8. acautionaryblog

    drbolte: How’s about C?

  9. I’ll take a letter!

  10. acautionaryblog

    K for Katie? 🙂

  11. nic

    I bought peonies today at the market, and they are quite lovely. I wish I could have them in my house every day of the year.

  12. That’s great. I’ll do it!

  13. C…happens to be the first letter of my first name, so I will do it and I will love it! 🙂

  14. I’m with you on all these except poetry. But I’ll make an exception for that poem, because I really like that poem.

Leave a Reply

