(Not-so) basic equations.

How pretty I feel = How skinny my arms look

How much time I spend on the internet in the morning = How much I don’t want to go to work

How much I don’t want to go to work = How little my boss trusts my opinion

How bad I feel about my marriage = How badly I want to see Cautionary Lover

How badly I want to see Cautionary Lover = How much I want good sex

How sane I feel = How much alone time I’ve had in the past few days

How much Cautionary Husband and I connect = How much Cautionary Husband asks me about my feelings

How much Cautionary Husband asks me about my feelings = How much I nurture Cautionary Husband

How much I nurture Cautionary Husband = How much Cautionary Husband asks me about my feelings

Fuck.

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “(Not-so) basic equations.

  1. “How pretty I feel = How skinny my arms look”

    Me too.

  2. Andrea

    (((you)))

  3. DB

    With the whole nurturing/asking about your feelings thing, I think you’ve got to take the first steps. Treat him the way you want him to treat you. I know it sounds really cliche, but in marriage, it’s so true.

    Someone once gave me some great advice. They said when you’re really frustrated by your husband, make yourself say good things about him, even if it’s a big stretch. It will get you out of the habit of thinking of his faults and will make you instead notice the good in him.

    I’m just full of the marriage cliches today… sorry! Trying to be helpful. 🙂

  4. Oh man, there’s nothing worse than feeling like your arms are flabby. Ugh. I agree with the skinny arms thing!

    I remember taking a personality test with Josh after we were already married and finding out that our two personalities are the only two that are highly recommended to NOT GET MARRIED. We process things that differently. I’m not exactly sure where I’m going with this, except that our particular equation doesn’t add up, either. And it has created a lot of struggle and frustration and oh my gosh, we do NOT understand each other. Our first year of marriage was by far the worst, and then after I miscarried we had a really hard time.

    But, you know. His logical ways balance out my emotional ways and suddenly, it works. Not all the time. But when it does, it’s amazing.

    I’m still cheering for you two.

  5. Sarah

    Your arms always look lovely.

  6. Maddie

    How does Cautionary Husband feel about everything? Is he still trying with you?

Leave a Reply

