Hey, it’s the sun, and it makes me shine.

I realize that this blog has been a bit of a downer.  Probably because I’ve been a bit of a downer.  But I’m ready to be happy again.  So, I thought for today’s post I would list some sources of incontrovertible happiness in my life.

  • Discovering that my Enneagram is a Four, and working to accept all the positives and negatives that go with it.
  • This video, and being inspired by it to recognize simple beauty and to make something beautiful:
  • Blue Bell Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough ice cream
  • Buying these jeans for $24 last night: White Jeans
  • Making friends because of this blog.
  • Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind soundtrack.
  • Cautionary Dog: Cautionary Dog
  • Having a president who is intelligent, insightful, likable, has a good sense of humor, and who actually tells us what’s going on.
  • The knowledge that I’m happier than I’ve been in a long time, and I’m getting better every day.
  • Learning “The Hazards of Love 4 (The Drowned)” on guitar.
  • The fact that I will be lying on a beach in Florida in sixteen days.
  • Cautionary Husband buying us tickets to Austin City Limits.
  • Gap’s new light, fresh scent, Close: Close
  • The gentle spring rain these past few days, but also those moments the sun manages to peek out and seems to shine more brightly than it ever has.

What is a source of incontrovertible happines for you?

14 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

14 responses to “Hey, it’s the sun, and it makes me shine.

  1. Awwww, how cute is C-Dog!! I love him!!! x

  2. Every day I walk my dog through my neighborhood. There is a house that has a lilac bush in the front yard, right near the sidewalk. Every time I walk past it I stop, pull a lilac blossom to my nose and inhale deeply. There were huge lilac bushes behind my childhood home and every summer I would pick them for my mother. The scent of lilacs simultaneously reminds me of my childhood and my mother and always makes me smile. =)

  3. every morning when i go into my daughter’s room to get her up for the day and she gives me a smile.

  4. Kristi

    Incontrovertible happiness is needing to go to Gap to use a coupon, seeing on a blog that the pants I spent $59.50 on weeks ago (and then returned because that was just too much) were on sale, heading to Gap on my lunch and purchasing said pants with coupon for $12! Thanks, Cautionary Girl!

  5. BanditWhite5Golf

    I do not allow myself to be happy right now. Happy is complacency and there’s too much of that around me right now.

    But… for those rare moments where I relax my muscles and let the tension out:

    Listening to Incubus’ “I wish you were here”
    When soldiers stand around and joke. It’s the best kind of community.
    Good movies on digits.
    Talking to my Girlfriend.

    I’m glad you let yourself be happy.

  6. juliennejiggs

    How excited my nephew is when he sees me. Lights up my whole day. I can only imagine what it feels like when it’s your own child that excited to see you.

  7. leaving the windows open when i leave for work then arriving home that evening, opening the front door and being greeted by a happy puppy and an apartment that smells like spring sunshine and rain.

  8. Norah. Even on days like today, when she is whiney and clingy and throws her chicken nuggets at me (what kind of kid doesn’t like chicken nuggets?) she is the brightest spot in my whole world. Aw crap. Now I’ve made myself cry and have to go kiss her cranky face.

  9. I’m glad to hear that you are feeling happier 🙂 Cautionary Dog is gorgeous, he would put a smile on my face too.

  10. kindred spirit

    Happiness – helping those who need help who I can help. Giving thought to those who need that energy. Looking up at the stars while in the mountains on a cold, clear night. Being in nature, soaking it all in. Taking in deep breaths on the beaches of Hawaii. Being under water enjoying a totally different world. Thinking clear, positive thoughts of how I want things to be. Connecting to that which is in the deepest parts of me. Being with my dog. My dog understands me, and I understand my dog. Walking in the rain. I love walking in the rain.

  11. nic

    That video was amazing. Thanks for posting it!

  12. My sister spending a week with me, a big doggy at my feet, a new hair color and my daffodils…still blooming

    xoxo

  13. that i will be lying on a beach in florida in 7 days! gotcha beat 🙂

  14. DB

    My beautiful, amazing new nephew, my adorable dog that thinks I hung the moon and cheese.

Leave a Reply

