I think I know what the problem is.

Last week, Sloane Crosley made me feel as though I could maybe write.

This week, Gabriel Garcia Marquez makes me certain I cannot.

Anyone have any suggestions for good writers who are enjoyable to read without making writing seem as though it should be an Olympic sport?  I need to get my writinglegs back.  I need someone like Billy Collins.  Or Ted Kooser.  Or David Sedaris.  Or Sarah Vowell.  I need a writer of the people.  Not a Nobel Prize winner.

Anyway, I lied the other day; I didn’t obviously write more yesterday.  Forgive me.  I am miserable.

This week is shot.  I’ll try again next.

10 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

10 responses to “I think I know what the problem is.

  1. CautionaryQuestioner

    Try Marilynne Robinson’s Gilead. It won the Pulitzer, and she might well be on her way to the Nobel. Not yet, though.

    Anyway, it’s a good book for the miserable.

  2. Lauren

    I like Jen Lancaster- Bitter is the New Black and Such a Pretty Fat. She just makes me laugh. A lot.

  3. Anonymous

    A Girl Named Zippy by Haven Kimmel… it’s a collection of essays about her childhood. So good.

  4. humanbeingblog

    I say read books that are similar to what you want to write. Don’t read lit novels if you want to write romance (or erotica). Don’t read romance if you want to write science fiction. And don’t write to get published. Write because you have a story that must be told.

    Marquez sucks, in my opinion. I don’t know who he thought his audience is, but it’s obviously people with IQs above 160 because it’s not followable by your everyday person.

    Try Ann Patchett and Barbara Kingsolver for beautiful, accessible writing. I agree that Billy Collins is great for any kind of writing inspiration.

    Also, have you thought about doing a workshop? Check out http://www.lighthousewriters.org for great online workshops. I know these teachers, and they’re the same quality you’d get in an MFA program. I’ve taken workshops with them for almost a decade and I can’t say enough about the quality of people you get to work with.

  5. humanbeingblog

    Oh, and by the way, you wrote this, and it counts.

  6. jen

    sorry – I don’t read the right sort of books!! x

  7. I read Time Traveler’s Wife by Audry Niffenegger and fell in love with the story, absolutely devouring it. Last night, at 2am riding the metro home and in between texting that man who stole my heart, I started Bel Canto by Ann Patchett and so far a good read (I’m only a few pages into it of course).

  8. try god shaped hole by tiffanie debartolo, the big love by sarah dunn, and london is the best city in america by laura dave.

    and then tell me your thoughts. because i’m nothing if not greedy for other people’s opinions when i recommend books! xo

  9. palahniuk. anything by him. start with diary maybe.

  10. amy

    The Time Traveler’s Wife is one of my all time favorites. highly recommend this one.

    for good nonfiction:
    Liz Gilbert’s Eat, Pray, Love
    anything by Anne Lamott
    Girl Meets God by Lauren Winner

    yes, they are all spiritual memoirs by women, but they make me feel like i could write and do it well.

    fiction:
    A Prayer for Owen Meany
    The Poisonwood Bible

Leave a Reply

