I had a living-alone success, and then I spent the next twelve hours LOSING MY SHIT.

So I hooked up my own internet.  Blah blah blah.  Yay, me.  All I did was plug the thing into the thing, and that other thing into the first thing, and then I could jump online and yammer about how I did it!  I did the thing!

That evening I nearly had a nervous breakdown about the cords.  The cords!  They were all over my bedroom!  And in a sprawl under my nightstand!  And I DON’T HAVE ANY OUTLETS WHY DO I INSIST ON LIVING IN PLACES BUILT BEFORE THE 1930s GAH.

Also, I have my third Urinary Tract Infection since October.  And I didn’t want to eat dinner because I felt sick, but I had to eat dinner to take my medicine that would make me feel better, and why is everything a vicious cycle nowadays?

So I called Cautionary Husband and he came over.  He brought an extension cord and Chipotle.  And after we ate and I had taken my medicine we assessed the cord situation and figured out a handy method of HIDING THE CORDS BEHIND MY BED ISN’T IT OBVIOUS THAT I DON’T HAVE A BRAIN.

And then we cuddled for a while and devised a plan to keep me from continuing to lose my shit, which included taking a damn sick day for once and resting a bit.  And, if I felt like it, running the errands I’ve been putting off, such as changing our addresses at the Post Office.

And so I did.  I called in sick.  I rested.  I watched the Inauguration, which rocked my face off.  I ran errands.  I got a pedicure.  And I rested some more.

I guess I’m not completely able to figure out life on my own yet.  But I think I’m getting there.

Yeah, I’m getting there.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “I had a living-alone success, and then I spent the next twelve hours LOSING MY SHIT.

  1. juliennejiggs

    I lived in an old beautiful apartment, arched doorways, built-in bookshelves, skeleton key locks and only two outlets in the whole thing and none in the bathroom! I feel your pain with the cords.

    Also? Just wanted to say hi 🙂

  2. I took Tuesday off, (for similar reasons) too. Wish I’d have known you were also sitting on your ass. I’d have called to say hi.

  3. Sometimes having someone point out the obvious is the best medicine though. We can’t be expected to have all the answers, all the time!

  4. I took Tuesday off also just to watch the inauguration. It was pretty awesome right. And the life on your own part…congratulations. I’ll get the hang of it any day now myself.

Leave a Reply

